🦉
fps.vogel

Ruby and computer science

A self-learning curriculum
2021-05-19

It’s been exactly one year since I started studying part-time to get into software development, and I thought it would be useful to write out my curriculum. I am learning Ruby, Rails, and a healthy dose of computer science. I’m also putting this on GitHub where I will continue to update it, but below is my progress as of now.

Objections

Why Ruby?? Isn’t JavaScript the obvious choice for web development? Ruby is a good first language to master because its ecosystem is stable, the community is more experienced, and for me Ruby is more enjoyable to write. Not convinced? Read this or watch this.

OK, but why so many books and courses?? Isn’t practice more important than reading? Yes, you should be spending more time coding than reading, but starting a project and getting into a coding routine is easy, whereas knowing what to read is not at all obvious at the beginning. Hence the larger space devoted to books and courses here. Besides the obvious reasons to undertake serious study (to learn from the masters, and to spice up my resume), I also simply enjoy knowing how things work under the hood.

Preliminaries

So without further ado, here are my recommendations from what I studied. Resources that are free of charge are marked with a star (⭐). If you need more free resources, see the links to other lists at the bottom. You may be able to find the books for free (from your local library or more dubious sources) but be sure to buy them when you can, to support the authors. 🙂

Frontend basics

Ruby

Meanwhile, computer science

Other programming/CS resource lists